The Illinois Technology Foundation is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to the development of the technology talent pipeline in the State of Illinois.

2011 CityLIGHTS Awards – May 12 at Union Station

The Illinois Technology Association (ITA) CityLIGHTS Awards are an annual celebration of the growth and vitality of the local technology community. Celebrating its 12th Year, CityLIGHTS recognizes some of the leading technology companies and individuals in our community whose innovation and success are driving growth in Illinois.

The 2011 CityLIGHTS Awards will recognize excellence in the following categories:

CityLIGHTS Award
Presented to an individual or business that actively and consistently supports the growth of the Illinois technology industry through demonstrated collaborative involvement that brings a spotlight on the community.

CEO of the Year Award
Presented to the CEO who has led extraordinary business growth of their technology company over the past year.

Technologist of the Year Award
Presented to the individual whose talent has championed true technology innovation, either through new application of existing technology or the development of technology to achieve a truly unique product or service.

Newcomer Award
Presented to the company that has the strongest potential to emerge from its start-up phase to become a leader in the technology industry.

Rising Star Award
Presented to the company, which, through innovation in products, services or business approach, has grown to become a serious competitor in the marketplace.

Lighthouse Award
Presented to the company who has taken a leading role in the national industry while attracting national attention to the Illinois technology industry.

New Concept Award
Presented to the company or individual regardless of size and status of the company with the best new technology-focused concept of the year.

Best Strategic Use of Technology Award
Presented to the non-tech organization whose has leveraged technology to provide a differentiated product or service, or has transformed the norm in their industry.

Comeback Entrepreneur of the Year Award (Chosen by You!)
Presented to the individual who has persevered following a fruitless effort.  This award celebrates the positive side of failed efforts, focused on the interminable entrepreneurial spirit!

The winners are presented at the CityLIGHTS Awards Gala on May 12, 2011.

2011 ITA CityLIGHTS Awards Finalists include:

CEO of the Year Award:
Michael D. Alter, SurePayroll
Adam Caplan. Model Metrics
Niko Drakoulis, Akoo International
Robert Figliulo, SPR Companies
Dave Shea, Corptax
Jai Shekhawat, Fieldglass
Andrew Sieja, kCura

Technologist of the Year Award:
Alex Bratton, Lextech Labs
Michael Fineberg, SurePayroll
Laurie E. Lasseter. WMS Gaming
David Rowe, Echo Global Logistics
Mohammad Shahidehpour, IIT
Irv Shapiro, Ifbyphone

Newcomer Award:
Apparel Media Group
InContext Solutions
Lextech Labs
SoCore Energy

New Concept Award:
FanGo Software Systems
MentorMob, Inc.
Red Foundry
VesselTek BioMedical

Voting closes April 29 at 5pm.  Vote today!

To learn more or find out about volunteer opportunities, visit our sister organization’s website here.

Event iCal link


Illinois Technology Foundation Partner Sites
Student Tech Club
Center For Innovative Thinking