The Illinois Technology Foundation is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to the development of the technology talent pipeline in the State of Illinois.

Don Yanek Named NCWIT Aspirations in Computing – Educator Award for IL

Congratulations to Don Yanek, winner of the 2012 National Center for Women & Information Technology (NCWIT) Aspirations in Computing – Educator Award for Illinois. The Educator Award is conferred upon educators that have demonstrated a commitment to encouraging young women’s aspirations in computing. Awardees are selected from among those that have endorsed and written recommendations for applicants for the NCWIT Award for Aspirations in Computing. Recipients of the Educator Award, receive an engraved commemorative award as well as up to $1,000 of expense reimbursement for computing-related professional development.

The awards ceremony will be Saturday April 6th, 4pm-6pm at the UIC Forum at the corner of Roosevelt and Halsted. Likely keynote speaker is Rane Johnson, Education & Scholarly Communications Principal Research Director at Microsoft.
(See for updates on ceremony as they become available.)

Don is the Chair: Department of Computer Science, Northside College Prep HS.  He is also President: Chicago Chapter of the Computer Science Teachers Association and is the Illinois Representative: National CSTA Leadership Cohort.

Illinois Technology Foundation Partner Sites
Student Tech Club
Center For Innovative Thinking